We could have been

love couple

We could have been more than friends
If we only gave “us” a chance
But we chose to be on the safe side
I should have told you
“I love you too”
When you said one night
“I love you so”
But I was a coward afraid to lose what we had
The friendship, trust and companionship that we shared
And now I still wonder what might have become of us

We could have been more than friends
If I was just honest to what I felt back then
If I wasn’t thinking about you and her
If he didn’t come to me first before you did
But you were my best friend
The one I confided about every silly things
Whom I ran to when I had troubles with him
Even though I knew it was hurting you too

We could have been more than friend
But you were also a coward
Afraid to lose what we had
The comfort, laughter and tears we shared
I was as uncertain as you were
Of the growing fondness between us
But you didn’t say a word till he got me fallen
So you thought you were forgotten
But boy, you were mistaken for I regret letting you go
And it was too late to let you know
Because you found someone new
So here I am, wondering
What could have become of us?
If we only gave “us” a chance
But we both chose to be on the safe side

Leave a Reply

